These databases are free to use for all registered students and faculty of the University of the Southern Caribbean. Combined, there are thousands of scholarly articles, journals and e-books in a wide range of subject areas to aid you in your academic pursuits.

*Your My Library Account is needed to access these resources while off-campus. Learn how to activate your account here.


Gale databases

This online research platform comprises many databases, which contain academic and peer-reviewed journals, e-books as well as the National Geographic Magazine archives. Go to GALE.

Ebsco databases

This online research platform comprises several databases (39), which contain academic and peer-reviewed journals, whose articles are available in full-text or as abstracts. Go to EBSCO.

ProQuest databases

You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. ProQuest platform includes (5) five databases; ProQuest Military Collection, ProQuest Digital National Archive, ProQuest Religion and ProQuest Dissertation and Thesis Global. ProQuest also provides RefWorks, a comprehensive citation management tool. Go to ProQuest Databases

PressReader

This web-based portal provides unlimited online access to more than 1800 newspapers and magazines from 5 countries in 45 languages. PressReader presents content in a full replica format which allows users to see the paper as it was intended. Content on PressDisplay is always up to date and is often available online before it's availalble in print! Go to PressReader.

Newspaper File Collection

The Forde Library's Newspaper File Collection contains scanned articles taken mainly from two of Trinidad and Tobago's national newspapers; the Trinidad Express and the Trinidad Guardian. The articles cover a wide range of subject matter, and are searchable by title, creator, subject and other fields. Go to Newspaper File Collection.

Adventist Virtual Library (AVL)

The AVL is a cybernetic port created to facilitate access to varied databases and links in several languages and diverse educational disciplines that complement the teaching-learning and investigative process in all the educational Adventist Institutions that are part of the Inter-American Division. Email library@usc.edu.tt for login assistance. Go to AVL

Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Go to Grove Music.

OPAC

The OPAC is an online database of all of the print resources held in the library. You can search the OPAC to locate books, journals ( print format), vertical and newspaper files in the library. It lists the location of the items, whether they are in the library or out on loan, and their call number. The OPAC allows patrons to place holds, view reading history and much more. Go to OPAC.

Research databases are organized collections of computerized information or data such as periodical articles, books, graphics and multimedia that can be searched to retrieve information. Take of advantage of all the tools the library has to offer!